Skip to main content

Boat Registration & Licensing

Aquatic Invasive Species Stamp

All resident and non-resident boaters are required to pay a fee to fund programs aimed at combating aquatic invasive species.

Boaters who register their motorized watercraft in Nebraska are required to pay $5 in addition to their three-year boater registration fee. Boaters who register their motorized watercraft in any other state will be required to obtain a $15 Aquatic Invasive Species Stamp each year that they boat in Nebraska. This stamp is available for purchase online. A temporary stamp may be purchased at some state parks and recreation areas.

What must be registered

All vessels powered by any mechanical device capable of propelling the vessel over any public or private waters of Nebraska, including the Missouri River and Lewis and Clark Lake, must be registered, except the following:

  • Motorboats registered in another state and housed in Nebraska less than 60 consecutive days
  • Vessels owned by any government or political subdivision
  • Racing-type motorboats when competing in state-approved races and during trial runs (48 hours prior to and after competition)
  • Vessels documented by U.S. Coast Guard

New registrations and renewals

Registration may be obtained only from the county treasurer in the boater’s county of residence. Boat owners may renew registration with the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles or their county treasurer’s office.

Length of registration

Nebraska motorboat registrations are issued for three-year periods, expiring on Dec. 31 of the third year. No motorboat may be operated after that date without the registration being renewed.

Registration Classifications and Fees

Class 1Vessels less than 16 feet in length and all canoes regardless of length$32
Class 2Vessels 16 feet or over but less than 26 feet in length$55
Class 3Vessels 26 feet or over but less than 40 feet in length$76.50
Class 4Vessels 40 feet in length and over$124
Class 5Dealers or manufacturers of motorboats for demonstration or testing purposes$55
DuplicateTo replace a lost or destroyed certificate$9
* An additional $4 issuing fee is applied to all registrations listed above. Registration applications submitted after the beginning of any registration period for a motorboat not previously registered in Nebraska by the applicant will be reduced by 1/36 for each full month passed.

Related Content

Find additional information to enjoy the waters of Nebraska from your boat.

Go Boating

Go Boating

Use these resources to get out on the water safely and legally while boating.

Read More
Boater Education

Boater Education

Boating Safety Courses teach students how to safely operate a motorized boat and follow rules.

Read More
Boating Regulations

Boating Regulations

Have a fun, safe and legal experience on the water by learning about Nebraska's boating regulations.

Read More
Alcohol and Boating

Alcohol and Boating

Boating under the influence is illegal in Nebraska. Learn more about penalties.

Read More

Boating FAQs

Have questions regarding boating? Read answers to questions frequently asked by boaters below.

Report a boating incident

Review what should be done in the event of a boating accident and the process for reporting an incident.