



The following five steps are mandatory and all must be completed. The first four steps may be accomplished in any order. \*The final step is always the background check. The Nebraska Game and Parks Commission (NGPC) has established the Operational Policy and Procedures Manual for Hunter Education Programs to govern the Hunter Education Programs. To qualify for certification all applicants must be a minimum of 18 years of age living within Nebraska or 5 miles of its borders. They must be a licensed hunter who has never had their privilege to hunt suspended or revoked by any court. Generally, they should not have any felony or certain misdemeanor convictions, be under any court orders that would prevent them from participating in the program, or have any conviction involving game law violations.

1. Fill out an application form and submit it to the Hunter Education Coordinator. There are separate forms for Firearm Hunter Education Instructor and Bowhunter Education Instructor.

2. Complete the free Boy Scouts of America Youth Protection Course. This course is available online from the BSA at <u>www.my.scouting.org</u> or from local BSA council offices. Applicants must furnish a copy of their certificate of completion for this course to the Hunter Education Coordinator. This training must be renewed every two years.

3. Attend a new apprentice instructor workshop. These workshops may be conducted by the Hunter Education Coordinator, Hunter Outreach Coordinator, any Master Instructor or any Conservation Officer. Dates and locations for trainings are posted on the NGPC website. If seeking dual certification as both a firearms and bowhunter education instructor, only one new apprentice instructor training is necessary.

4. Complete apprentice teaching under the supervision of a lead certified instructor. An applicant must teach several different segments of a class. Their abilities will be evaluated by the lead instructor. After satisfactory completion of apprentice teaching, the lead instructor must submit a completed Apprentice Instructor report form to the Hunter Education Coordinator.

\*5. The NGPC will conduct a background check with federal and state law enforcement, NGPC Law Enforcement Division and seek the local conservation officers' endorsement of the applicant.

## Only the Hunter Education Coordinator will issue certification. This will be done after a review of the information from all of the above five steps.

Steps 1 through 4 may be completed in any order, but all four of these requirements must be completed for an applicant to be considered for certification. This process is controlled by NGPC policy on the Hunter Education Programs. Please contact the Hunter Education staff if you have questions.

Volunteer instructors are extremely important to the success of NGPC Hunter Education Programs. It is imperative that our volunteer instructors effectively teach students the hunting principles related to ethical behavior, responsibility, safety and wildlife management. Volunteer instructors are representatives of the Commission when teaching students, and are vital in meeting the obligation to provide the mandatory Hunter and Bowhunter Education training on a state wide basis.

A new certified instructor is considered to be an apprentice instructor. This term also applies to those instructors whose certification has lapsed and wish to regain certification. By policy, any person who has not taught for 36 months has lost their certification and may be required to repeat the five steps to become a new certified instructor. <u>At no point in the process may apprentice instructors issue certificates of completion or file instructor reports.</u> Only certified instructors are permitted to issue certificates of completion and file instructor reports.